Fruit Power Black Bean+Oat Bowl

Before a long workout, I need fuel that is going to sustain me without weighing me down. I also just always want food that is going to taste totally awesome. This combo of protein+carbs+generaldeliciousness does just that!

 photo (5)

Oats? Juice? Beans? Just trust me, people. This bowl is the shizzzzzzzzam. (Did I just say shizzzam?)

Black Bean+Oat Bowl

Serves 1

 Ingredients

  • ½ cup oats (I use a gluten-free brand)
  • ½ cup fruit/veggie juice mix (Trader Joe’s has great ones on the cheap if you can’t make your own! I can’t think of a flavor that wouldn’t be delicious, but I especially love orange+beet+carrot+cranberry juice)
  • ½ cup cooked black beans
  • 1 clove garlic, diced
  • 1 orange, peeled and chopped
  • Your favorite salad veggies (I love this with cabbage, cucumbers, avocado, tomatoes, jicama, carrots, cilantro, parsley and red onion!)
  • Juice from ½ a lemon
  • Olive oil for drizzling
  • Salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

Directions

Mix oats and fruit/veggie juice mix in small bowl, cover, and place in fridge for at least half an hour. In a small pan on medium heat drizzled with olive oil, add half of sliced orange and diced clove of garlic. Cook until garlic is lightly browned, then add black beans. Stir frequently for five minutes or so, until bean mixture thickens. Let cool. Slice your favorite salad veggies / dippers (I recommend using the other half of the sliced orange in the salad). Combine soaked oats and beans together, and drizzle everything with lemon juice, olive oil and salt and pepper.

photo (3)

What other fruity/savory pairs do you love? How else do you eat oats?

4 thoughts on “Fruit Power Black Bean+Oat Bowl

Leave a comment